Cricket is a game played between two teams of 11 players on a circular field. At the centre of which is a rectangular 22-yard long pitch.

In essence, it is single combat, in which an individual batsman to take part in battle against an individual bowler, who has helpers known as fielders.

Each team takes it in turn to bat and bowl attempting to prevent the batting team scoring runs. Teams may bat once or twice each depending upon the format of the game.
The game progresses as one member of the fielding team known as the bowler delivers the ball to the batsman down the length of the pitch. The batsman then attempts to strike the ball with his bat in order so that the ball either reaches the boundary or enables him to run to the other end of the pitch and thus accumulate runs. The batsman may continue batting until he is dismissed. Once ten batsmen from the batting side have been dismissed, the team is said to be all out and the two teams change roles.
In professional cricket the length of a game ranges from 20 overs of six bowling deliveries per side to Test cricket played over five days.
The Laws of Cricket are maintained by the International Cricket Council (ICC) and the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) with additional Standard Playing Conditions for Test matches and One Day Internationals.
The first cricket was played in southern England in the 16th century. But the end of the 18th century, it had developed into the national sport of England. The expansion of the British Empire led to cricket being played overseas and by the mid-19th century the first international matches were being held.
This game's governing body is ICC. This game is mostly popular in Australasia, England, the Indian subcontinent, the West Indies and Southern Africa. 

Post a Comment